We would like to thank all those who helped secure a Conservative majority government on May 7th with David Cameron returned as Prime Minister!

With so many of CFCyprus’ Parliamentary friends re-elected, and the prospect of gaining many new Parliamentary supporters, the CFCyprus Team is delighted that the hard work so many supporters put in over the previous months and years finally paid off.

We extend our heartfelt congratulations to David Burrowes MP, Mike Freer MP, Sir Roger Gale MP, Matthew Offord MP and the Rt Hon Theresa Villiers MP. You can read their messages of thanks here. We would also like to congratulate Cllr Spiros Vassiliou for his re-election to Southampton City Council.

With the Rt Hon Philip Hammond as Foreign Minister, the Rt Hon David Lidington as Minister for Europe and the Rt Hon Theresa Villiers all returned to the Cabinet we are confident that UK-Cyprus relations and the Cypriot community maintains strong and supportive voices in the British Government.

We would also like to extend our best wishes and thanks to Nick de Bois who regrettably narrowly lost his seat. Nick was a stalwart support of Cyprus and the Cypriot community, as well as being an exceptional MP in the 5 years he represented Enfield North, and we wish him well in his future endeavours and his promising future in public life. His message is as follows:

“Although disappointed not to have been returned to the House of Commons for this Parliament, this has not dimmed my commitment and determination to see a just, balanced and lasting settlement for Cyprus. The help and support I received from the Conservative Friends of Cyprus during my five years as the Member of Parliament for Enfield North, and specifically during the recent campaign, helped cement a bond with many colleagues from the North London Cypriot community. I am grateful for that generous support and lasting friendship”

CFCyprus looks forward to continue building its support in the Conservative Party and in supporting talented individuals within the Cypriot community to push for a positive, diverse and representative future for our country, community and the party.

Thank you for your ongoing support and we look forward to seeing you at one of our exciting upcoming events – by joining on our mailing list you will receive regular updates and invites.

Below are some messages of thanks from our Parliamentary friends:

Rt Hon Theresa Villiers MP – President of CFCyprus

I would like to thank all those in the British Cypriot community who voted for me in the general election and all those who helped out with my campaign. There are too many to mention all of them by name, but I owe a special debt of gratitude to Andreas and Joanna Tambourides, Doros Partasides, Michael Ellinas, Maria Paschali and Andreas Papaevripedes for all their work on my campaign and in other constituencies in north London. 

I am delighted to be re-elected to serve a third term as MP for Chipping Barnet. I remain committed to championing the reunification of Cyprus. I look forward to continuing to work with the Cypriot community, and my colleagues in the Conservative Party to support efforts to find a just, balanced and lasting settlement, as I have done for the last 16 years. 

The votes of the British Cypriot community will have had a significant impact on the outcome of the elections in north London. It is excellent that good friends of Cyprus like Matthew Offord, Mike Freer and David Burrowes were all returned to Parliament, but very sad that Nick de Bois was not. Nick was a great supporter of the Cyprus cause and he will be much missed in the House of Commons

David Burrowes MP – Parliamentary Chairman of CFCyprus

Thank you very much to the 22,624 constituents who voted for me last week, many of whom are Greek and Greek Cypriot. As I said at the declaration I am committed to love service not power, to be concerned for others and to be a strong voice for Enfield Southgate in Parliament. It is also great that we have the opportunity as a Conservative Government to finish the job of recovery for the benefit of all of Enfield. 

I pay tribute to former MPs Andy Love and Nick de Bois who served the Borough of Enfield so well. I will, along with many in Enfield, particularly miss my colleague Nick who was an MP with integrity, honesty and leaves a legacy of real achievement. 

I look forward to representing you and flying the Conservative Government’s flag in Enfield over the next 5 years. I will continue to be a strong voice for Cyprus and will do all I can to support a just and lasting reunification of Cyprus.

Sir Roger Gale MP – Vice-Chairman of CFCyprus

I have received great and gratifying support from the Cypriot community in East Kent – not only at the ballot box but in practical campaigning . I am particularly grateful to the President of the Community for taking a lead in this effort.

Matthew Offord MP – Chairman of Cyprus APPG

I am absolutely delighted to have been re-elected as the Member of Parliament for Hendon and I would like to thank the Cypriot community for all the help and support given throughout the campaign. The community have shown me great friendship and I look forward to continuing my work with them, representing their views in Parliament and supporting efforts to achieve a united Cyprus.

Mike Freer MP – Member of CFCyprus Parliamentary Group

I am enormously grateful for the support from the community. During the campaign and at the ballot box.